Waving Farewell

15 Feb

Written for:

Sunday Photo Fiction – February 15th 2015

Waves engulfing a lighthouse

“A perfect storm” the newspapers all touted. “It will be the storm of the century” the grim-faced announcer told his captive audience.

On the mainland, buildings are boarded up and residents  evacuated to higher ground. The lessons learned from the great tsunami in 2011 have not been forgotten.

When the word came in that we were to leave our post at Lion’s Head lighthouse but that one of us would have to stay behind to monitor wind speeds and the incoming tides, my decision was made in an instant.

I gathered my four colleagues together and told them to get their gear together as quickly as possible and make their way to our home office which was several miles inland. No amount of arguing would get me to change my mind.

They all shook my hand and hugged me  before driving away, honking the horn as they turned the bend for what would possibly be a final goodbye. Their words echoing in my head as they disappeared over the horizon. “Hero” they said “Brave and selfless”.

If they only knew how far from the truth that they are.  I have no fear of the imminent killer waves, for I know that death will be much quicker and merciful than from  the cancer that is eating away at my brain one painful day at a time. I am a coward.

READ OTHER STORIES
AND ADD YOUR LINK

7 Responses to “Waving Farewell”

  1. julespaige February 15, 2015 at 1:21 pm #

    I don’t believe anyone is a coward when they want to forgo the agony and grief of such a disease. And there is the slim chance the lighthouse will remain standing. I let Hope out of Pandora’s box…

    Thanks for stopping by my piece. Realization and resolutions don’t always have to conflict.

  2. Steve Lakey February 15, 2015 at 1:28 pm #

    I don’t see the decision as cowardice. At the very least, it prevents someone else having to stay. To me, there is dignity in being able to choose your own exit under these circumstances.

  3. Priceless Joy February 15, 2015 at 2:46 pm #

    I agree with the others but I can also understand his thinking of himself being a coward in the face of painful cancer. This story was awesome! It really pulled me in and kept me captivated and punched me in the gut in the end.

  4. Francesca Smith February 15, 2015 at 8:06 pm #

    Like the others, I also do not think that he is a coward. This is a very gripping story and kept my attention all the way through.
    Well Done!

  5. martha0stout February 17, 2015 at 1:52 pm #

    Bravery is subjective.

  6. lingeringvisions by Dawn February 18, 2015 at 2:08 am #

    If only we all could have such choices.

  7. Suzanne Joshi February 21, 2015 at 4:20 am #

    I agree that he wasn’t being a coward. Someone had to stay, and the others had longer lives ahead of them. It was a sensible decision. Well done, Pat. — Suzanne

Leave a Reply

