A.H.F.W.W.

18 Jan

Written for:

Sunday Photo Fiction – January 18th 2015

A pre-Victorian building that is now one of the major banks in the UK.

A.H.F.W.W.

It is an unremarkable building, no different from the others around it, but since moving here three years ago it has intrigued me.

Pedestrians will cross the street to avoid passing before it but when I questioned my neighbors about this behavior they became close-mouthed and simply said that I should do the same. A couple of braver souls referred to it as a cult, once they got you in there would be no chance of escape.

Not being overly superstitious I refused to detour past. Walking along the property with abandon, I could hear a light tapping as I passed by. After about a week of this, I ventured a peek..most of the curtains were pulled back and the inhabitants stood smiling at me as they tapped pencils on the window panes. How Bizarre!

As the days turned into weeks I began to bravely wave my hand as I sauntered past and they, in turn, would return the greeting.

One rainy afternoon as I returned home from work I stopped dead in my tracks. An elephant (yes I said elephant) beckoned me from an upstairs window. Unable to resist, I boldly made my way up the walk and knocked on the door of Alaistair’s Home For Wayward Writers.

13 Responses to “A.H.F.W.W.”

  1. Priceless Joy January 18, 2015 at 1:15 pm #

    I loved this!!

  2. babso2you January 18, 2015 at 3:40 pm #

    LOL! What a great story! I was not expecting it to end that way! Hey, by the way, did you see me in there?

  3. yarnspinnerr January 19, 2015 at 8:10 am #

    🙂
    Very nice read.

  4. Steve Lakey January 19, 2015 at 2:06 pm #

    I’ve heard you do get some odd characters in there – a right motley crew! 😉

  5. Oh Danny Boy January 19, 2015 at 9:41 pm #

    Ah yes, good old Alaistair. I’m sure he will let you in.

    DJ

  6. martha0stout January 20, 2015 at 10:14 pm #

    (*grins*) That was a perfect ending!

  7. EagleAye January 23, 2015 at 10:43 am #

    Did you happen to see an Eagle smiling down at you? Loved the twist at the end, and the reference to all of us. That was great!

  8. Suzanne Joshi January 25, 2015 at 3:11 am #

    Great story. The neighbors were right. It’s habit-forming. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

Leave a Reply

