Cold Day In Hell

5 Dec

Written for Friday Fictioneers

5 December 2014

flowers with Ice-Janet Webb (2)

PHOTO PROMPT – Copyright Janet Webb

~~~~~~~~~~~~

“It’ll be a cold day in hell before I let you leave.” Father’s slurred words interspersed with the snapping of his belt as he swung the buckle at mother’s face. Luckily, in his drunken state, his aim was not as good as usual.

We children crept off to bed, desperate to remain unnoticed until he passed out. Tomorrow would be tears, forgive me’s, kiss and make- up. We’d seen it a million times.

My sister woke me in the dark and I shivered despite the August moon.Wrapping myself in a blanket I looked out the window to see what had her so excited…

 

9 Responses to “Cold Day In Hell”

  1. Amy Reese December 5, 2014 at 9:05 pm #

    A “Cold Day in Hell” always quite a phrase. My mother says, “I wouldn’t go to hell with her.” Another good one! Did they see snow the next morning? That’s what I thought at the end. I enjoyed your story.

  2. Nan Falkner December 6, 2014 at 4:44 am #

    This is so sad, I have known friends that lived through this or their mothers did and I always said a prayer to God thanking him for my family. Those friends really needed you. I wonder what was out the window – perhaps the police were there to arrest the wife beater (I hope it wasn’t an ambulance for the mother). Cold Day in Hell was an intense statement. Good story! Nan 🙂

  3. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) December 6, 2014 at 9:56 am #

    I love speculating what was outside.. I feel a small hope that it would be the end for the wife beating father.. He could have decided to fall asleep outside…

  4. talesfromthemotherland December 6, 2014 at 11:05 am #

    Watching a similar (drinking) story unfold with folks I love… and helpless to change a thing. Even without the violence, the destruction is painful to watch! SO well written and captured; you’ve really nailed it here. As for the ending, I love that you leave us each with our own wish.

  5. The Writer's Village December 6, 2014 at 4:25 pm #

    always sad and oppressive to read about an alcoholic – and violent – parent.
    Randy

  6. lingeringvisions by Dawn December 6, 2014 at 10:25 pm #

    An august moon, shivers, escape?
    I hope so.

  7. Perry Block (@PerryBlock) December 7, 2014 at 3:15 pm #

    Very well done and nice tie-in of the title to the story.

  8. aliciajamtaas December 8, 2014 at 1:14 pm #

    This definitely gave me shivers and I want to know what got her excited ….

  9. martha0stout December 9, 2014 at 1:00 pm #

    I must know, what is out the window!

Leave a Reply

