Don’t Shoot ..

23 Nov

Written for :

Sunday Photo Fiction – November 23rd 2014

88 11 November 23rd 2014

As the first rays of light needle their way through the pines, the twitter of an early bird cuts through the forest. I shiver despite the three layers of clothing I am wearing, dampness settling around me like a wet blanket. I have been here for hours in my hiding place, barely moving ; my eyes riveted to the spot where I have been leaving apples and carrots for the last couple of weeks. Now as dawn settles in  I know that my wait will soon be over.

Then I hear them approach, hesitant at first, but the scent of my offerings soon bring them in to full view. Several white tail deer are in my line of sight but they are not what holds my interest. A little to their left stands a magnificent buck. I raise my arms slowly, aim at him and shoot.

The almost imperceptible sound of my Nikon sends the troupe bounding into the woods but I grin like a fool. I finally got a picture of Rudolph.

Click on the blue frog and enjoy !

9 Responses to “Don’t Shoot ..”

  1. Rosalind Nazilli November 23, 2014 at 2:52 pm #

    Love it… Very wonderful use of prompt..x

  2. Penny L Howe November 23, 2014 at 3:20 pm #

    Love this one Patricia, just loved it! 🙂

  3. David Stewart November 23, 2014 at 10:51 pm #

    Nice twist and just in time for Christmas. Unfortunately, I think the picture would be worthless, considering how easy it would be to fake. Not that I’m advocating shooting Rudolph or anything but still… 🙂

  4. martha0stout November 24, 2014 at 3:10 pm #

    That certainly caught me by surprise, pleasantly so! And made me chuckle.

  5. babso2you December 1, 2014 at 7:12 pm #

    Wonderful story and I love the end! Maybe you might want to come and join in on Mondays Finish the Story? It is a challenge with a photo prompt, 100-150 words, and it includes the opening line of the story…you get to finish it! Thanks too for dropping by to check it out! Be well! ^..^

Leave a Reply

