Pendulum

31 Aug

Written for:

Sunday Photo Fiction: August 31st 2014

75 08 August 31st 2014

“““““““““““

My mother is the Queen of useless gifts. Last Christmas she presented me with a pendulum which she insisted would look great on my office desk. I honestly think it was a sly attempt at mockery since she knows full well that I suffer from misophonia and that the clicking would drive me beyond rage. Nonetheless, like a good daughter I set the damned thing up and swore to everyone who entered the room that they would be put to death if they even so much as thought about getting those silver balls swinging.

Yesterday afternoon as I was deep in thought ( or possibly napping ) the tiny orbs began to vibrate then suddenly started moving on their own. I had just enough time to dive beneath the desk as drawers slid open and began emptying on the floor. Lamps, picture frames and ceiling tiles fell like rain all around me. What felt like an eternity only lasted a couple of minutes. Sweet! My first San Francisco earthquake.

16 Responses to “Pendulum”

  1. misskzebra August 31, 2014 at 10:59 am #

    I thought for a second that the pendulum was going to be magic, but I much prefer this!

  2. patrickprinsloo August 31, 2014 at 11:12 am #

    An early warning system. Sweet!

  3. babso2you August 31, 2014 at 11:17 am #

    Good one! BTW: None the less is actually one word — nonetheless. Have a great Sunday! ^..^

  4. Al August 31, 2014 at 11:32 am #

    Excellent alarm system. It did start shaking here the other day, just before the chandeliers started shaking and vibration went through the floor. Not sure what it was, but it didn’t clack much

  5. Steve Lakey August 31, 2014 at 12:29 pm #

    Maybe not so useless after all! Good surprise ending. 🙂

  6. abrainwithfeet August 31, 2014 at 12:53 pm #

    Reading your stories are always refreshing and delightful. 😀 Keep it up!

  7. Yoshiko August 31, 2014 at 1:19 pm #

    Is it a dream?

    >

  8. Lyn September 1, 2014 at 4:18 am #

    A great take on the prompt. LOL it just goes to prove sometimes Mother does know best 🙂

  9. Pat September 1, 2014 at 8:26 am #

    There is such elegance and poise in your writings – and a wit that is borderline – dare I say it? I mean no offense at all for I love it – whacked. :0 You create and weave so well in so few words that I always am smiling with delight – and in this case, despite the unfortunate circumstances that prompted the dreadful outcome. Cheers!

  10. FabricatingFiction September 1, 2014 at 8:31 am #

    Great ending.

  11. martha0stout September 2, 2014 at 1:04 pm #

    You must be true to your earlier threat! You must hunt down the epicenter of the earthquake and punish it! (*grins*)

Leave a Reply

