Dreams

14 Aug

Written for Friday Fictioneers

15 August 2014

Hosted on  August 13, 2014 by rochellewisoff

PHOTO PROMPT -Copyright - Jan Wayne Fields
PHOTO PROMPT -Copyright – Jan Wayne Fields
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Above my antique writing desk is a watercolor painting that came to me by way of my Grandfather . The glass is cracked in one corner the result of falling to the floor the day my Aunt left his house forever, slamming the door behind her.

“Women have no business attending medical school” he had yelled at the closed door “next damn thing you’ll be wanting to vote.”

I keep a picture of Granddad propped  on the desk as a daily reminder of how one man’s narrowmindedness inspired someone to follow her dream. I pick up my pen and follow mine..

26 Responses to “Dreams”

  1. Brenda Davis Harsham August 14, 2014 at 8:31 am #

    Wow, what a story! Very moving. Hard to believe that’s all fiction.

  2. yarnspinnerr August 14, 2014 at 9:20 am #

    Aunt Jane went off to medical school ?

    Great take on this prompt.

  3. Sandra August 14, 2014 at 9:39 am #

    Beautifully written. That ending just flowed. Well done.

  4. Elizabeth August 14, 2014 at 2:24 pm #

    Love it!

  5. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) August 14, 2014 at 4:59 pm #

    The truth in the fact . that a narrow-minded person can inspire another to do the opposite of what he want’s .. that’s very good.. love the detail with the cracked glass..

    sometimes the best way forward is to listen to the advice, and then doing the exact opposite.

  6. storydivamg August 14, 2014 at 10:59 pm #

    “I pick up my pen and follow mine.” Beautiful ending. I think many of us have similar “baggage” when it comes to grandparents and their ideals. May we all find inspiration to keep us following our dreams regardless of what “proper” people think.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    • high five and raspberries August 15, 2014 at 7:34 am #

      My writing has often been referred to as “dribbiling”. It is my escape, my lifeline, and my raison d’être all in one. I appreciate the visit and the comment. To dream is to live ~ Pat

  7. rochellewisoff August 15, 2014 at 5:13 am #

    Dear Pat,

    I’m imagining by now Aunt Jane is a doctor with a thriving practice. So well written I saw the the argument between the father and daughter. Brilliant!

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  8. dmmacilroy August 15, 2014 at 7:12 am #

    Dear Patricia,

    This is one of those instances where how your previous stories affected me made me read this week’s offering. I am glad I did and want you to know that now I have one more reason to keeping dropping by to read your work. Very well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  9. aliciajamtaas August 15, 2014 at 8:30 am #

    This is great! I can hear doors slamming and glass cracking.

  10. patrickprinsloo August 15, 2014 at 12:42 pm #

    Good for Doc Aunt. Long may she heal the sick.
    Keep writing.

  11. Life in the 50's and beyond... August 15, 2014 at 4:26 pm #

    Lovely…. love to think of all those who followed their dreams despite criticism and narrow-mindedness!

  12. Blog It Or Lose It August 15, 2014 at 5:00 pm #

    Good for both of you …. for following your dreams! 🙂

  13. santoshwriter August 16, 2014 at 8:48 am #

    Nice one!

  14. martha0stout August 16, 2014 at 12:16 pm #

    You don’t often see narrow-mindedness inspiring dream.

  15. wmqcolby August 16, 2014 at 9:25 pm #

    Hee-hee-hee! Good one, Pat! Very mischievous, too. Love it!

  16. patriciaruthsusausan August 17, 2014 at 11:10 am #

    Pat, Good story. I’m glad to see the aunt knew her own mind. I guess she showed him as out the door she went. Well written as usual. 🙂 —Susan

  17. lingeringvisions by Dawn August 17, 2014 at 12:47 pm #

    Love it, very empowering.

Leave a Reply

