Honeymooners

30 Jul

Written for: Friday Fictioneers

1 August 2014

PHOTO PROMPT- Copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

PHOTO PROMPT- Copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields    

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The past two weeks have been a whirlwind of emotion, first a wedding and then a funeral. Fifteen days after saying our vows we are finally arriving at our honeymoon destination. Through the small window I can see the beautiful Irish landscape as we make our approach into Cork, land of your Father and Grandfather. My heart skips a beat as we touch down.
I can hardly believe we have finally arrived. Stepping off the plane onto the tarmac I taste the early morning air then stand patiently to the side while they unload your coffin from the cargo hold.
23 Responses to “Honeymooners”

  1. Al July 30, 2014 at 6:36 am #

    What a sad end to a wedding. Great story

  2. rochellewisoff July 30, 2014 at 6:55 am #

    Dear Pat,

    This was a subtly understated gut-wrencher. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Sandra July 30, 2014 at 8:57 am #

    Constructed with subtlety. I wasn’t expecting that ending. Nice one.

  4. storydivamg July 30, 2014 at 9:27 am #

    Dear Pat,
    Breathtaking ending. This is one of my favorite FF stories ever–at least in the 6 months that I’ve been playing along. Beautifully written, understated in all the right ways. Stunning.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

  5. paulmclem July 30, 2014 at 12:25 pm #

    Ah, married to a vampire. Nice 🙂

  6. martha0stout July 30, 2014 at 1:17 pm #

    I really want to know more…

  7. wmqcolby July 30, 2014 at 1:21 pm #

    Oh, OUCH! That hurt. Yes and YES! We have a winner here. Great job. Five Jamesons!

  8. J. D. Hager July 30, 2014 at 1:31 pm #

    Wow, that was a doozy. Nice story.

  9. Vidhya Rao July 30, 2014 at 4:10 pm #

    did not expect that end. I wish this is always a fiction in anybodys life!

  10. aliciajamtaas July 30, 2014 at 4:48 pm #

    Brilliant! That ending made me shout out, “No!”

  11. Snow's Fissures and Fractures July 30, 2014 at 5:05 pm #

    Oh, hard punches you throw, Missy.

  12. lingeringvisions by Dawn July 30, 2014 at 8:31 pm #

    I felt the heart ache.

  13. The Writer's Village July 30, 2014 at 10:43 pm #

    well okay. A gruesome end to a new beginning…

  14. patriciaruthsusan July 31, 2014 at 3:33 am #

    Pat, That heartrending story stood alone, but would make a great beginning for a longer story. What great description and ending twist, Well written. 🙂 —Susan

  15. Maree Gallop July 31, 2014 at 9:46 am #

    You took me on a roller coaster with that one. I was so engrossed then I felt my heart sink. Very cleverly executed.

  16. dianathrelfo July 31, 2014 at 9:21 pm #

    Wow – that ending caught me by surprise despite the mention of the funeral early on. A very clever twist in the tale.

  17. dmmacilroy August 1, 2014 at 5:22 am #

    Dear Patricia,

    Wow. What a great story. The type I’d wish I’d written myself and also the type from which springs a novel or a longer short story at the very least. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  18. Perry Block (@PerryBlock) August 1, 2014 at 10:23 pm #

    This was surprising, all right. Sad, moody, and well done.

  19. Preeti August 3, 2014 at 4:08 am #

    What a terrible end to a wedding. Very well written!

  20. Nan Falkner August 3, 2014 at 3:07 pm #

    Dear Pat, Wow – this is a lot of emotion from one extreme to the other. Good writing – no EXCELLENT writing! Nan 🙂

Leave a Reply

