Standing Ovation

11 Jul

Written for:

Light and Shade Challenge Monday 7 July 2014

Images courtesy of freeimages.co.uk


Standing Ovation

We were the underdogs in the tournament so it was with immense pleasure that we won the pivotal game against the hometown favorites, and in their own stadium to boot.

As my mates and I made our way to our locker room I could hear the crowd chanting my name..

Peter..Peter..Peter

I turned around and made my way back up the ramp to the playing field outside. My head was swollen with pleasure and my heart literally pounded out of my chest as I ran to receive my ovation. I was a hero!

As I stepped into the sunlight a shoe hit me square on the forehead, a second one just grazing my shoulder. I ducked for cover as a plethora of footwear rained down from the bleachers.

cheater..cheater..cheater

they all screamed..

5 Responses to “Standing Ovation”

  1. Yoshiko July 11, 2014 at 6:35 am #

    Cheaters are what people dislike

    Yoshiko

    >

  2. tnkerr July 11, 2014 at 1:37 pm #

    I hate it when that happens! Great take on the prompt.

  3. Sara Healy July 11, 2014 at 1:46 pm #

    Whoa. That was a surprise. I hadn’t thought about the picture looking so much like entering into a stadium, but you are right…it does! I liked how you switched from “Peter…Peter…Peter” to “cheater…cheater…cheater.” Well done!

  4. martha0stout July 12, 2014 at 12:28 pm #

    I agree with Sara, that was a surprise! I feel kind of bad for Peter…

  5. Thomas Marlowe July 13, 2014 at 5:32 am #

    You put across the emotion and the twist so well! And I’m now guessing at the backstory…

Leave a Reply

