Getting The Boot

26 May

Written for:

Light and Shade Challenge Monday 26th May 2014

Image courtesy of wax115 on rgbstock.com

 

As I walked in the door I could hear the voices of my roommate and her boyfriend coming from the kitchen. Arguing again.
If you want us to stay together you’ll do this for me
I told you, I can’t, I still owe my parents for the last time
I mean it, do it or else. You know you’re not much to look at. If I date you it is out of pity. Look at you..who else would want you ? You owe me this.
I’m sorry, but I just can’t help you this time
I cringe as the sound of a hard slap and then punching comes from the other room. I try to move away unseen but I am too late. Paul enters the hallway and heads for the door. As he bends down to retrieve his boots I can clearly see the hand mark on his cheek and what looks like the beginning of a black eye. He tries his best to hide his tears as he walks out in his bare feet.
Embarrassed I look away. Why does he let her do that to him?
9 Responses to “Getting The Boot”

  1. yarnspinnerr May 26, 2014 at 10:18 am #

    Very kool take. 🙂

  2. lyssamedana May 27, 2014 at 6:09 am #

    That is so heartbreaking. It is also a good reminder that domestic violence runs in both directions. I hope he gets away. Lyssa M x

  3. steph May 27, 2014 at 8:30 pm #

    I went in a similar direction. Nice twist…it happens, unfortunately for both genders.

  4. tnkerr May 28, 2014 at 5:23 am #

    Nice twist. I liked this a lot it took me where I was not expecting to go.

  5. Sara Healy May 29, 2014 at 10:40 am #

    Well done! I liked the way you created the tension and then gave me the surprise:~)

  6. pilgrimofcognition May 29, 2014 at 2:20 pm #

    It was a pretty shocking end..Well done! Makes you realize that man is not the only culprit of domestic violence.

  7. Ally May 30, 2014 at 7:20 am #

    So true. The streams of domestic abuse run in many directions. Nice twist at the end.

    Enjoyed

    Ally

  8. Thomas Marlowe June 1, 2014 at 5:15 am #

    Very well written and with a nice twist on the usual interpretation – powerfully done

Leave a Reply

