Road To Freedom

13 Apr

Written for:

Sunday Photo Fiction: April 13th 2014

55 04 April 13th 2014I heard Ma and Pa talkin about it again last night when they thought I was sleepin. They has promised me to Ralph Smithers down the road in exchange for a pig and two sheep. Better than my sister Sarah who got traded for a  jersey cow two years ago. I seen Ma watchin me like a hawk lately, just waitin for me to start my “monthlies” so’s they kin git me wed.

Well I ain’t marryin no creepy old geezer, I got other plans.

This mornin I snuck out early and headed down the highway. It is gittin light and soon I will have to leave the road and wade down the river. Can’t have Pa’s hounds sniffin me out and trackin me down. Iffin I git caught I’m gonna take a whoopin.

Aint gonna happen.. I start walkin faster.

3 Responses to “Road To Freedom”

  1. KarinKateriKei April 13, 2014 at 1:37 pm #

    I really like your take on the photo this Sunday. Wishing wings to her heels, smiles.

  2. Deanna Bollinger Hill April 13, 2014 at 4:31 pm #

    Oh the poor girl! I love the dialect, it gave the story flavor and I can feel my IQ drop. P
    I reckon that she better hurry before her kinfolks catch her and give her a whoopin!
    I wonder what her adventure would be like, if she did manage to get away. What would she do? Where would she go? A great story with a great beginning to what could be a very interesting longer story. 🙂

  3. Al April 13, 2014 at 8:01 pm #

    I can imagine her in her dungarees with a piece of straw hanging out of her mouth 😀 Excellent

Leave a Reply

