Desert?

1 Feb

Image

The words slip off his tongue

unctuous and sweet

resembling the caramel

in my favorite chocolate bar

his lines and body language

though well rehearsed

do not tell the truth

I can see it in his eyes

the windows to his soul

they cannot lie

I dare not partake

of the love he offers

for fear it shall leave

a bad feeling in my gut

like the stewed prunes

that Mama used to serve

which leads me to wonder..

is he the secret

in my caramilk bar

or just my Mama’s

recipe for disaster

One Response to “Desert?”

  1. Helena Hann-Basquiat February 1, 2014 at 3:39 pm #

    Strange how love can tie your stomach in knots.

Leave a Reply

