Into the light

9 Dec

Sunday Photo Fiction: December 8th 2013

37 12 December 8th 2013

Photo copyright: A. Forbes

Into The Light

Each time the scenario is the same. I move toward the soft glow of the pink light, intrigued by the reflection I see in the center. The only sounds that accompany me are my heavy breathing and the clicking of heels on the cement floor. My heels?

As I get closer the reflection becomes a window through which I can see a man who looks like a much younger version of my father. He holds a girl- child tightly by her wrist, compelling me to move closer to try to hear what he is saying. I have never gotten this close before.

I reach out to slide…

A snapping of fingers propels me back  to the Psychiatrist’s sofa where I lay shivering, exhausted, and angry.

“I cannot allow it” she says calmly from the other side of the room “you are not  yet ready to open that window”.

I weep

2 Responses to “Into the light”

  1. Anja December 9, 2013 at 6:06 am #

    Oh wonderful! Very creative and intriguing.

  2. Al December 9, 2013 at 10:59 am #

    Oh that is very good. So much scope there

Leave a Reply

