Trifecta: Week Ninety-Six

24 Sep
Trifecta: Week Ninety-Six
ANIMAL (noun)

_____________
I can recall quite vividly the first time it happened. I didn’t understand the reason back then, I was only five, all I knew was that Grandma was dying and she smelled awful.
The second time was at age fourteen when cancer took my father. I found the smell of him overwhelming.
Two years ago I begged and pleaded with my husband to go and see a doctor. “You have cancer” I told him “I can smell it”. He just rolled his eyes and laughed it off. At the end I could not approach him without retching. He begged me to end his pain but I did nothing. What a coward I was.
Some time has passed and I have realized that I was given this ability for a reason. I must help people before they begin suffering and euthanize them humanely.
Just last night I had to end the life of a young mother. It was, as with all the others, a clean kill. I am not a depraved animal for God’s sake. I am an angel. The angel of mercy.
10 Responses to “Trifecta: Week Ninety-Six”

  1. Draug419 September 24, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

    Nice bit of a twist at the end.

  2. Julianne Q Johnson September 25, 2013 at 1:34 am #

    Nice twist! I wasn’t expecting that at all.

  3. trifectawriting September 25, 2013 at 9:29 am #

    Great take on the prompt. Love how you worked it into this imaginative story. Don’t forget to come back and vote!

  4. steph September 25, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

    I like it. We do this for our ‘animals’ why not our humans?

  5. Christine September 25, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

    Ooo, interesting – is she truly gifted this way, or is she rationalizing her madness? I love that you leave us wondering.

  6. margitsage September 25, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

    Poignant. This particularly resonated with me because I have such a vivid memory of what my father smelled like in the hospital when he was dying last year. Dried blood and antiseptics. Ugh, what a nightmare to be an “angel of mercy”.

  7. atrm61 September 26, 2013 at 2:56 am #

    Oh wow!What an angel!Hopefully her sense of smell does not go awry after a time & she lets the animal within,take over!A great piece here:-)

  8. jannatwrites September 26, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    What an intriguing story. Totally didn’t expect her taking on the angel of mercy role…

Leave a Reply

