Trifecta: Week Ninety-Five

18 Sep
Trifecta: Week Ninety-Five
}}z
I turn the pages of the book ever so slowly. the edges of the paper dog-eared and worn. I have no need to  read the words, they are firmly imbedded in my mind. Sir Edmund Hillary was my hero, I have climbed Everest with him a thousand times, never tiring of the view.
It had been my hope ever since I was a lad, to follow in his footsteps and conquer that deadly mountain, alas this will never happen. The pot of gold at the end of my rainbow destroyed by a land mine in Vietnam.
When the neighborhood children look at me they see an old man in a wheelchair, they don’t see the teenager who answered his country’s call to war and left his dream in a rice paddie far from home.
I sigh as I close the book and nod off to sleep, a dream world where I once again conquer Everest.
Trifecta: Week Ninety-Five
4 Responses to “Trifecta: Week Ninety-Five”

  1. trifectawriting September 18, 2013 at 7:27 am #

    A well-crafted piece which thrusts the reality of the character’s situation on the reader. Love how the dream is both metaphorical and literal now. Thanks for linking up!

  2. KymmInBarcelona September 19, 2013 at 5:39 am #

    Great opening to a tragic tale.

  3. Draug419 September 19, 2013 at 11:59 am #

    Oh wow, this just hits you in the feels.

  4. atrm61 September 20, 2013 at 11:06 am #

    A poignant,touching piece ,depicting a slice of real life!

Leave a Reply

