Thirst

9 Sep

Ligo Haibun Challenge – Persian Words

“Not only the thirsty seek the water, the water as well seeks the thirsty.” – Rumi

I have spent a lot of time seeking answers to questions for which there shall be no responses, much like the thirsty desert nomad who sees the oasis but never reaches his destination, my journey is ended. The why’s of my childhood will remain a mystery. I can choose to dwell on what might have been, or continue to carry the burden of what was, but I have found my glass of water. I offer myself freedom..freedom from guilt…freedom from being a victim..freedom to drink from life and be proud of who I am. Freedom to live.

at the fountain of life

I will hold out my cup

until it overflows

zen-buddha-water-fountain

9 Responses to “Thirst”

  1. Linda Vernon September 10, 2013 at 12:00 am #

    This is so beautifully written and so touching. I am happy for you. Go forward and never look back.

  2. nightlake September 10, 2013 at 7:07 am #

    This was really nice, Patricia. You have said a lot in a stanza and a haiku

  3. yarnspinnerr September 10, 2013 at 11:59 am #

    and freedom from all fear. Excellent.

    🙂

  4. Sun September 10, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

    i really like this one. the freedom to live no matter our past. ♥

  5. freyathewriter September 11, 2013 at 6:27 am #

    I think we all seek that freedom – aren’t we all our own harshest critics, constantly chastising ourselves for the things we did, the things we didn’t do and, and, and…? Such a release to let that go, and forgive ourselves.

  6. Penny L Howe September 12, 2013 at 11:45 pm #

    I think I mentioned something earlier today about you having a gift with words, Patricia. It shows itself so clearly with your haibun. This is excellent. Well written, every word and haiku!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thirsty Seekers – A Ligo Haibun Affair | Simply Charming - September 10, 2013

    […] Thirst (highfiveandraspberries.wordpress.com) […]

  2. I Don’t Know I’m Thirsty | angieinspired - September 11, 2013

    […] Thirst (highfiveandraspberries.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Haibun: Samara Recognized | Bastet and Sekhmet - September 12, 2013

    […] Thirst (highfiveandraspberries.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

