“Paul”

12 Aug

http://alastairsphotofiction.wordpress.com/2013/08/11/photo-fiction-august-11th-2013/

20 08 August 11th 2013                                   photo credit: http://kattermonran.com/

Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Wendy and I am the owner of Paul’s ice cream. I know what you are thinking..Paul’s ice cream..the story is quite simple.

Paul was my grandfather’s dog , irreverently named after one of the Beatles. It was common knowledge that the pooch was dumber than a bag of hammers. Sit, stay, shake a paw, were all above his comprehension. He did however have one redeeming quality, he once saved my life.

One blustery afternoon when I was two, my mother stepped outside with me so I could enjoy a little fresh air while she and my grandpa had a smoke. ( Grandma wasn’t having any of that nasty business in her house ). Mom turned her back on me for one second to light her cigarette and when she looked back I was gone.

After almost five minutes of frantic searching, I was found at the edge of a pond crying.  pinned to the ground gently but firmly by a very determined german shepherd.

As the story goes, the family got a good scare and Paul got rewarded with his favourite treat, a bowl of french-vanilla ice cream.

So..here I am today with the beginning of what I hope will be a lucrative business, and yes, french-vanilla will always be on the menu.

9 Responses to ““Paul””

  1. E A M Harris August 12, 2013 at 9:00 am #

    A nice story. Is the dog really dim or is he just independent?

  2. yarnspinnerr August 12, 2013 at 9:36 am #

    Did you make it up ?

    Enjoyed the read 🙂

  3. neenslewy August 12, 2013 at 10:22 am #

    Easily drawn into this piece – especially the dog saving her life. A great take on the picture.

  4. Gabriella August 12, 2013 at 3:26 pm #

    Very cute and imaginative!

  5. freyathewriter August 13, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

    Aaaw, cute! What a fitting memorial for a one-time clever dog! (And now, I really want ice cream!).

  6. Lyn August 14, 2013 at 4:23 am #

    Great story! I love hero dog stories 😀

  7. RoSy August 15, 2013 at 12:16 pm #

    A nice sweet story behind the business! 🙂

Leave a Reply

