The One On The Bottom

11 Aug

Ligo Haibun Challenge 09/08-16/08

Picture

In the acrobatics of life, I often felt like I was the one on the bottom. Trod on and used as a stepping-stone, necessary but unimportant.

One day it occurred to me that I was looking at things from the wrong angle.

The one on the bottom needs to be the strongest, without a solid base the one on top will always fall. I was in that position because I was trusted to be there.

The top may wave to the crowd and take the glory but the one who is below carries the weight. Without him there is no show.

 

trusting in yourself

the way others trust in you

a balancing act

 

 

5 Responses to “The One On The Bottom”

  1. Ye Pirate August 11, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

    I really, really liked this. Such a beautiful message, retaining a touch of sadness but much humanity. A wonderful haibun to read.

  2. readinpleasure August 12, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

    Oh, such a beautiful haibun

  3. anelephantcant August 14, 2013 at 3:11 am #

    Superbly done.
    AnElephant loves that you see things from a different perspective.

  4. Sunshine August 15, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    love the haibun and the message

  5. Penny L Howe August 15, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

    I gotta say, this is my favorite so far! I love everything about it. The style, the flow, the message and the haiku! A pleasure to read and experience Patricia!

Leave a Reply

