Seeking Freedom

21 Jul

1645226

When I was young I would sometimes lie on my back in bed, pull the sheet up over my head, and pretend I was dead.

From the safety of my “coffin” I could close my eyes and imagine myself rising above the clouds, my worries falling away below me like raindrops as I drifted up to Heaven.

For a short time I was free from the constant bombardment of physical and emotional abuse.

Back then, I was not afraid to die, I was afraid of living.

looking at my past

I am frightened for the child

who dwells within it

_____________________________________________________________

12 Responses to “Seeking Freedom”

  1. Gabriella July 21, 2013 at 4:22 pm #

    Beautiful and powerful with a very good haiku!

  2. flatfroghaiku July 22, 2013 at 7:19 am #

    I like that you represent valid escapism, rather than escapism for its own sake.

  3. anelephantcant July 22, 2013 at 6:48 pm #

    Ouch!
    Expertly written but so distressing.
    Well done.

  4. Sunshine July 23, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

    powerful words and well put together. ♥

  5. readinpleasure July 23, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    Powerfully written, deep and sad

  6. nightlake July 24, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    sad and disturbing. well-written

  7. Alastair July 26, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

    Brilliant

  8. Penny L Howe July 26, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

    Patricia, your writing is awesome, the message crystal clear. A well written haibun and haiku, my friend!

    • high five and raspberries July 26, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

      Thanks Penny..I worried that it is a little too personal..

      • Penny L Howe July 27, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

        No such thing, okay maybe there’s a line, but you’re no where near it my friend! 🙂

  9. Ye Pirate August 2, 2013 at 4:13 am #

    What a powerful ending! We’ll be doing the Honourable Mentions in Dispatches on a monthly basis soon, which should work well, with continued weekly challenges. .

Leave a Reply

