Earth Songs

14 Jul

Ligo Haibun Challenge  12/07-18/07

“The earth has music for those who listen.”  [George Santayana]

earth

When my children were little, we were the typical family. Hurry and get up, hurry and eat, hurry to the bus ..hurry..hurry..hurry..

One spring morning my youngest son refused to get up

come and listen” he pleaded

I don’t hear anything” I replied

You’re not trying hard enough..listen”

So I got on his bed and layed beside him and soon heard what he did, the singing of tadpoles in the nearby pond.

As we snuggled together that morning, I was reminded of my Grandfather. He had taught me how to identify the different birds by their calls and twitters, and how to tell the temperature by counting the chirps of the crickets.

I suddenly felt sad that I was rushing myself and my children so much that I had forgotten how to enjoy the beauty, the scents, and the music of nature.

From that day on, we all learned to slow down and enjoy the gift of life.

a wise five year old

teaches his Mom to enjoy

natures symphony

13 Responses to “Earth Songs”

  1. Peripatetic Eric July 14, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

    I like the feeling you convey of slowing down, being, listening. That feeling really comes through.

  2. Gabriella July 14, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    Lovely evocation! Your memories of your grandfather and what he has taught you are precious, aren’t they?

  3. twoscamps July 14, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

    It’s amazing how sometimes the grandparent and the child can teach you similar things, like how to listen. Nicely done.

  4. steph July 14, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    A very wise five-year-old. Slow down and listen – lovely story to get that message across.

  5. nightlake July 14, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

    This was sweet and lovely. Once in a while, it is necessary to slow-down or life becomes mechanical

  6. julespaige July 15, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

    Your hiaku sums it up nicely. Sometimes it just doesn’t matter if the sink is full of dirty dishes, while either the sun, stars or moon are out and to be seen and shared.

  7. readinpleasure July 16, 2013 at 11:46 am #

    what a lovely a haibun. I have now learned to slowdown, thanks to you

  8. Sarah Ann July 17, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

    Such a gorgeous story. I’ve never heard tadpoles sing – now I’m going to try to hear them someday.

  9. Penny L Howe July 20, 2013 at 1:48 am #

    I really enjoy reading your written words Patricia. You are a gifted. Your haibun is rich with expression. So lovely.

Leave a Reply

