Trifecta: Week Eighty

5 Jun

She never knew the love of a father, that was not the card she was dealt. Hers was cruel and abusive, fueled on excessive alcohol and the desire to hurt. Living with him was a tightrope act with no net.

When he died she asked the funeral director if she could be present at the cremation. He found it a little unusual but agreed thinking that this was her way of saying farewell to her beloved father.

She just wanted to be damn sure he wasn’t coming back. I guess that makes her a freak.

FREAK (noun)

 
1
a : a sudden and odd or seemingly pointless idea or turn of the mind

 

b : a seemingly capricious action or event

2
archaic : a whimsical quality or disposition

 

6 Responses to “Trifecta: Week Eighty”

  1. trifectawriting June 5, 2013 at 7:38 am #

    No. I’d say that makes her profoundly intelligent. Great job with the prompt. Thanks for linking up.

  2. Yoshiko June 5, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    Poor girl 😦

  3. Draug419 June 5, 2013 at 10:25 am #

    I think that’s very sound reasoning (:

  4. Christine June 5, 2013 at 2:43 pm #

    Ha. I’d do the same thing, I think. Great job!

  5. jannatwrites June 5, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

    I don’t blame her…then again, I’m not sure if I qualify as normal, either 🙂

  6. claireful June 7, 2013 at 2:48 am #

    I’d agree – not so freakish. I’m curious as to who the narrator is.

Leave a Reply

