Do you love yourself ?

30 May

I recently had to fill out a questionnaire. The question that was the most intriguing was :

Do you love yourself ?

Seems like a simple enough question, but is it ?

I think it is honest to say that until a couple of years ago my answer would have been no.

Like many others I have always been very critical of my self image. The accumulation of a childhood of abuse and carrying the guilt for things over which I had no control left me with little to no self esteem.

Although I have been happily married for many years and have raised a wonderful family, I was always waiting for the bottom to fall out. I had convinced myself  that somehow I did not deserve to be loved.

The decision to change my life came easily , the execution ( pun ) , more difficult.

A very wise friend told me that I would never be truly happy until I learned to love myself.

I began my “new” life by forgiving myself for imagined wrong doing.

Next came the acceptance of who I am and how I look.

Step three was the purging of the negative behavior and realization that yes, I deserve to be happy.

The last step was learning to be honest with myself.

So do I love myself ? Yes, yes I do !

 

 

 

One Response to “Do you love yourself ?”

  1. Stacy June 1, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    guess who else loves you? MEEEEE 🙂

Leave a Reply

