The little engine that could

28 May

I have a truly amazing cousin. We have never been as close as I would have liked. We grew up in different generations and different provinces.

First of all she was my first girl cousin in a sea of boys. She is also my inspiration.

As a child she overcame obstacles that were placed in front of her by “professionals”. The  family was told that she would never do this or that. They underestimated the strength of character and determination of that child and her parents.

She has long since done all those things she supposedly couldn’t  do and so much  more.

She is all grown up now, and what a lovely person she is.

This woman has the biggest heart of anyone I have ever met. She never, ever, puts herself first and often at her own expense.

She speaks softly and kindly, never judges, and always willing to help anyone.

Because of her I have learned not to say  I think I can.  Instead,  I say I know I can.

It is too bad that more of us could not be more like she is.

Thank-you  D.J.J. for pointing us in the right direction..

She is the little engine that could.

Image

2 Responses to “The little engine that could”

  1. Bilbet May 28, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    I do not always respond to every blog people write but I DO read them all. This one is so special and touching I felt I needed to repond. You do a fantastic job on your blogs and some such as this brings tears to the eyes. So sweetly written and so true. She will treasure these words forever. Love you and don’t ever stop writing your blogs.

  2. xyvius May 29, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    Hmm… a high five to the writer! By the way, I did add your son’s blog to my blogroll on the right side of the screen. That way, anyone who reads my blog, may also tap on his link. Keep up the writing. I enjoy the ‘high fives’ you give!

Leave a Reply

