Aunt B

9 Apr

Growing up I barely knew her. We would see her and Uncle Bill about once a year in the summertime. I have to admit that we were a tab bit more excited to see the cousins than the Aunt and Uncle..lordy the nonsense we would get up to.

It wasn’t  until about 5 years ago that I really began to know her. Although she lives a fair distance from me I know that she is no further than a phone call away.

She was one of the first people in my life who was willing to believe and accept what her brother ( my father ) was. I have no intention of forgiving him, in spite of popular opinion I do not owe him that. He never showed any regret for his actions. He no longer has control of my life. All the years of manipulation and lies that were meant to keep my brother and I  apart have finally failed. It  makes me angry to think that we lost more than 20 years but I think it has made our bond even stronger.

Upwards and onwards. My Aunt Betty is responsible in part for my writing bug. ( Got to blame someone ! ) She has told me that I am a lot like her. I have had time to think about that and she is right on so many levels. We both are blessed? with the gift of the gab..we love 100%…we are easily hurt and sensitive to words ill spoken.

We also carry the stubbornness of the Ellis clan. Good luck to anyone who tells us that we can’t do something. It only serves to fuel the desire to continue. Unlike my Aunt, I will never write a book, let alone two.

My only regret is that I waited so long to get to know her and Uncle Bill. I cheated myself out of a loving relationship in the past but hopefully they will allow me to enjoy them for many years to come.Image

Oh ! Did I fail to mention that I look like her ?

One Response to “Aunt B”

  1. Bilbet April 10, 2012 at 2:53 am #

    Well, this blog floored me, I must say. Thank you for the kind words although I’m not sure they are all warranted. Unlike you, I don’t think I have the unique ability that you have for tugging at the heart strings. Thank you kindly. Love you.

    Oh, did I mention it’s actually Brian that I’m trying to score points with?

Leave a Reply

